In news release

OMAHA, Neb. (May 8, 2014) The unified goal for foster children is clear–a safe, loving, and permanent home for every child.  The path toward permanency for a child in foster care is not an easy one, but good foster parents can make the path better for hurting children.  To honor and recognize foster parents during National Foster Care Awareness Month Governor Dave Heineman will issue a proclamation on May 14, 2014 at 11:00 a.m. at the state capitol building, Warner Chamber (east side of 2nd floor rotunda).  Foster parents, family members, child welfare professionals, children adopted out of foster care, state senators, and child advocates will witness the proclamation as they stand in solidarity in their unified goal for children.

The event is organized by the Foster Family-based Treatment Association (FFTA) Nebraska Chapter and is open to the public.

FFTA Nebraska Proclamation: Whereas May is National Foster Care Awareness Month and Nebraska currently has 4,190 children and youth in foster homes across the State, we recognize and honor foster parents who open their hearts and their homes to provide safe and loving care to these children until they can be reunited with their families or achieve permanency through adoption.

About FFTA Nebraska Chapter: The Foster Family-based Treatment Association (FFTA) is a national agency-led organization of foster care providers  that support families caring for vulnerable children. Member Agencies include Better Living Counseling Services , Boys Town, Building Blocks for Community Enrichment, Cedars Youth Services, Child Saving Institute, Christian Heritage, Epworth Village, KVC Behavioral HealthCare, Inc., Lutheran Family Services of Nebraska, Inc., Mid-Plains Center Foster Care Services, Nebraska Children’s Home Society, Inc., Nebraska Families Collaborative, NOVA Treatment Community, Inc., Omni Behavioral Health, Saint Francis Community Services, South Central Behavioral Services, Inc.  

Invited Guests: Sen. Annette Dubas, Sen. Kathy Campbell, Sen. Tanya Cook, Sen. Sue Crawford, Sen. Mike Gloor, Sen. Sara Howard, Sen. Bob Krist, Sen. Dan Watermeier, DHHS CEO Kerry Winterer,  DHHS Child and Family Services Director Thomas Pristow, Children’s Commission Chair Karen Authier, Foster Care Rate Committee Chair Peg Harriott , Nebraska Families Collaborative President & CEO Dave Newell, CAFCON Executive Director Mary Johnson, NEAHSC Chair Margaret Vacek



Start typing and press Enter to search

Traduzca »