Foster care training is designed to educate families on the unique issues related to caring for children that have experienced the trauma of being removed from their caretakers. This training will equip families with the skills needed to provide children in foster care with a safe, stable, and nurturing home.
Families interested in becoming licensed foster parents through Nebraska Children’s Home Society are required to complete 39 hours of structured training. Foster parents are required to complete training prior to becoming licensed.
Minimum requirements for becoming a licensed foster parent include the following:
Must be at least 21 years of age.
Background checks with local, state, and national law enforcement, Adult Protective Services, Child Protection Services, Department of Motor Vehicle, and Sex Offender.
Completion of the Foster Parent Training Class.
Completion of an in-depth home study.
Receive support and get educated through NCHS pre-natal, childbirth education, youth education, teen chats and parenting classes! Join a class.
Join Our Team
Do you have a heart for children? Would you like to be a part of the work NCHS is doing to help children and families throughout Nebraska? NCHS Job Opportunities.
The future appears brighter in part because of the generosity of supporters who believe as we do, and as the Children’s Home’s founders did, that children thrive within safe and loving families. Latest Appeal.